April Singapore Women in Science event with Assoc. Prof. Kimberly Kline


April 24, 2018    
5:30 pm – 6:30 pm


IMB seminar room
Level 6, Neuros Building, 8 Biomedical Grove, Singapore, 138665

Event Type

Our speaker for our next Singapore Women in Science event is Kimberly Kline, Associate Professor of Microbiology at NTU and a Principal Investigator at the Singapore Centre for Environmental Life Sciences Engineering. Her presentation will be “there and back again, my career in science”.

In 2011, Kimberly joined Nanyang Technological University in Singapore as an Assistant Professor of Microbiology and a Principal Investigator at the Singapore Centre for Environmental Life Sciences Engineering, where she leads an international team of 20 research scientists. She was promoted to Associate Professor in 2017. Research interests in the Kline lab center around 2 themes: 1) molecular mechanisms of cell-wall associated virulence factor assembly in Gram positive pathogens, and 2) pathogenesis of polymicrobial infections, with an emphasis on those involving Enterococcus faecalis. The Kline lab employs a variety of model systems for these studies including in vitro mammalian cell-associated biofilm models, and mouse models of gut colonization, ascending and catheter-associated urinary tract infection, and wound infections.

Kimberly Kline earned her BA in Biology from St. Olaf College in Northfield Minnesota, and received an MPH in Biostatistics and Epidemiology and PhD in Microbiology and Immunology from Northwestern University in 2005.  Kimberly went on asa postdoctoral fellow at Washington University in St. Louis and at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm Sweden. During her training, Kimberly was an American Heart Association Fellow and Carl Tryggers Fellow.Kimberly has received multiple awards for her contributions to the field of microbiology, including a NIH K99 Career Development Award in 2011, the Singapore National Research Foundation Fellowship in 2011, the ICAAC Young Investigator Award from the American Society of Microbiology in 2014, and the Nanyang Education Award in 2017.